The Brighton and Sussex Medico-Chirurgical Society is one of the oldest medical societies in England. Established in 1847 by the society’s first president Dr William King – founder of the Brighton Co-operative Society. Regular meetings were held for many years in the music room of the Brighton Royal Pavilion. In the 1970s, meetings were transferred to the Sussex Postgraduate Medical Centre on the Brighton General Hospital site. The 100th anniversary meeting, held in the Pavilion was attended by many distinguished guests including the Presidents of the three Royal Colleges. The Society has an extensive library containing many valuable historical medical books.

What We Do

Our aim is to provide a forum where doctors, medical students and interested 6th formers from all over Sussex can meet and hear distinguished speakers deliver interesting and stimulating talks on a variety of medical and non-medical topics. These talks aim to tackle some of the major medical, ethical, philosophical, educational and medico-political issues that confront health professionals and the general public alike.

Bursaries and Prizes

We are currently reviewing our prizes and bursaries for 2018.  More information to follow soon.

Medical Students and Foundation Doctors

We are particularly keen to welcome medical students and foundation doctors at all meetings. All you need to do is to take a seat in the Audrey Emerton lecture theatre before the presentation starts! The meetings are a great opportunity for career development, networking and continuing professional development (CPD).


Membership is open to senior clinicians in both primary and secondary care, retired doctors, junior medical staff and Brighton & Sussex Medical School (BSMS) students from all years.Annual membership fees are as follows:

Full member £55.00
Joint member £80.00
Retired member £30.00
Joint retired members £45.00
Student member FREE

To join the society, click here.

Additionally, pupils in their final two years at local schools who are interested in a career in medicine are more than welcome to attend lectures.


Meetings are held in the main lecture theatre of the Audrey Emerton Education Centre on the Royal Sussex County Hospital site and take place at 7pm. Optional suppers are at 6pm. Evening meetings are held on the first Thursday of the month excluding July, August & September. The speaker programme is arranged by the current President and the invited speakers often have an international or national reputation.

Annual Dinner

There is an Annual Dinner held at an interesting local venue which is open to members and their guests.

The Council

The council is a small body which ensures the aims and objectives of this charity are upheld. The council comprises officers and members who, once elected remain as council members for 3 years. The officers are elected at the AGM which is usually held before the May meeting. There are also ex officio members of the Med Chi council ensuring close links to local hospitals and the Brighton and Sussex Medical School. The council must always have 2 medical student representatives. New ideas of how to run the Society can be brought to council members attention and then are discussed and approved if there is a majority of council in agreement. The council is supported and advised by a Secretary who organises the daily running of the society, notifies members and interested parties of future open meetings and council meetings as well as collecting membership dues and encouraging new members. The Society is also supported by a Treasurer whose task it is to ensure the appropriate collection and disbursement of the Society’s funds. Ordinary members are very welcome to make suggestions for improving the running of the society through one of the council members. The Secretary can always supply the contact details of council members. The current council is listed below.

OfficersPresidentDr Sonali Kaushik
 Vice PresidentsMr Andrew Hobkirk
  Professor Chakravarthi Rajkumar   
 President ElectProfessor Rob Galloway
 Medical DirectorDr Rob Haigh – ex officio
 BSMS DeanProf. Malcolm Reed – ex officio
 Director of Medical EducationProfessor David Beattie – ex officio
 Council Professor S. Waquar Yusuf
  Mr Charles Zammit
  Mr John Quin
Junior Doctor  Dr Sohini Mukhopadhyay
 Student Members 
Trustees Mrs Janet Thompson  
  Mr Varadarajan Kalidasan
  Max Cooper
Secretary Kennis Lau